To curb distracted driving, starting in July 2012, it was against the law to text while driving. In the ten months since the law took effect, according to the Charleston Gazette, there have been 125 convictions of drivers who texted while driving in West Virginia. While the overall number of 125 convictions may seem small, when compared to larger neighboring states like Virginia, which had 316 texting while driving offenses, West Virginia’s enforcement of the law appears on track.
The law, codified as WV Code 17C-14-15, makes texting while driving a primary offense and talking on a handheld phone while driving a secondary offense until July 1, 2013. After July 1, 2013, the code also makes talking on a handheld phone while driving a primary offense.
Under the new law, drivers caught texting while behind the wheel face fines of $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second violation, and $300 for subsequent offenses. Additionally, for a third offense and more, drivers may receive up to three points against their licenses.
Distracted driving is a major cause of collisions and injuries on West Virginia roadways. If you were injured due to a distracted driving accident, get in touch with the legal team at Manchin Injury Law Group. The following are key statistics to keep in mind:
Key Facts and Statistics