To protect you from COVID-19, we are offering a quick & easy remote intake process. Click here to learn more.
All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are very popular in West Virginia and throughout the U.S. ATV owners who enjoy taking these vehicles off-road should know that as motor vehicles, ATVs are subject to state laws, and West Virginia has several laws that apply to ATV use in the state. If you own an ATV or plan to purchase one, it is essential to know these laws. Following ATV laws in West Virginia will help maintain safety and prevent incurring legal penalties.
The West Virginia University Center for Rural Emergency Medicine provides a full rundown of West Virginia’s ATV laws and the statistics of ATV accidents in the state.
West Virginians should consider these statistics and cultivate safe riding habits.
State law prohibits all West Virginia ATV operators from carrying passengers unless their vehicles carry passengers by design. Most ATVs are one-person vehicles. Children under 16 years old should not operate any ATV with an engine size greater than 90 cubic centimeters. West Virginia strongly encourages riders to wear appropriate helmets and safety equipment and refrain from consuming drugs or alcohol before operating their ATVs.
West Virginia also upholds several other specific laws pertaining to safe and legal ATV operation in the state.
Failure to abide by these laws can result in fines or loss of license. A first offense could qualify as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor could result in a fine of no more than $100 and ten hours of community service. A second offense will qualify for a fine up to $200 and up to 20 hours of community service.
Abiding by West Virginia’s ATV laws not only helps keep you safe and avoid legal penalties like fines but can also help limit your liability in the event of an accident. If you have an ATV accident in West Virginia, your failure to wear a helmet or abide by state laws could lead to you absorbing partial liability for the accident. West Virginia upholds a comparative negligence law, meaning a plaintiff found partially at fault for a personal injury will lose a portion of his or her settlement or case award equal to his or her fault percentage. For example, a plaintiff found 10% at fault for a $50,000 ATV accident claim would lose 10% of the case award or $5,000 for a net award of $45,000 instead.
All West Virginia ATV operators must abide by state laws at all times. Operators must use good judgment whenever they ride their ATVs, even on private property. These vehicles are fun, but they are also incredibly dangerous when mishandled or driven irresponsibly. If you or a loved one suffered injury in an ATV accident due to another party’s negligence, contact a West Virginia personal injury lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your options for legal recourse. An accident lawyer can also help you recover the financial compensation you deserve.